• Print

6.2.1 Academic Affairs Committee (F, S)

Approved by Academic Council on September 23, 1993; revised April 16, 2014

The Academic Affairs Committee is responsible for defining curricular policies of the Stockton campus of the University. It reviews all curricular proposals, including addition and deletion of courses, changes in course numbering, in credit hours, and in course descriptions. The committee reviews the establishment of new majors and all new degree programs. The committee also oversees the regularly scheduled reviews of academic programs. After such review the Academic Affairs Committee refers its recommendations to the Academic Council for recommendation to the Provost.

The Academic Affairs Committee receives curricular proposals from the Provost, who receives them from the Deans of each school and college on the Stockton campus and the Dean of the Graduate School. The Provost receives such proposals only after they have been duly approved by the appropriate faculty committee of the school or college recommending the curricular change. Recommended changes in the graduate curriculum or programs must first be approved by the Graduate Studies Committee. The Academic Affairs Committee recommends the University calendar for the Stockton campus. In addition, the committee approves name changes of academic departments.

The committee has fourteen voting members:
Nine faculty members, each elected by their respective faculties, as follows: one each from the Conservatory of Music, Eberhardt School of Business, School of Engineering and Computer Science, School of International Studies, Benerd School of Education, and the Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences; three from the College of the Pacific (representing the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities). Faculty members are elected for three year staggered terms.

The Chair of the Graduate Studies Committee.

The Provost or designee.

Three students: the ASUOP Director of Academic Affairs plus two students appointed by ASUOP. One of these three should be a graduate student, one should be enrolled in a professional school, and the third should represent a major in the liberal arts.

There are also thirteen ex-officio, nonvoting members: all academic deans; the Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee of the Regents; the Director of Admissions; the University Registrar; the Dean of Libraries; the Chair of the Academic Regulations Committee; the Vice President for Student Life Officer. The Chair is elected from among the faculty members on the committee.