• Print

Settings Change for Deleted Items Folder

Jun 8, 2012

When OIT transitioned from Exchange 2003 to Exchange 2010, the new version changed how the "Deleted Items" folder retention is managed and removed the previous settings which were needed to help minimize impacts on server performance. Previously, Exchange 2003 was configured to empty the deleted items folder after 14 days.

Currently, Exchange users must manually empty their "Deleted Items" folder. An automated process is recommended so that the "Deleted Items" folders do not excessively consume storage placing a burden on our e-mail servers.

OIT needs to reapply a setting for the "Deleted Items" folder for all Faculty and Staff users. The change will automatically empty deleted items in the "Deleted Items" folder after 30 days.

This change will be made on July 3rd, 2012 at 6:00 a.m. Items that were deleted on or before July 3rd will be emptied from the deleted items folder on August 2nd. Any items added to the deleted items folder after July 3rd will be emptied after 30 days from the deletion date.

If you have any questions or comments please contact the CSC at helpdesk@pacific.edu or 209.946.7400.

Tags for this article: