• Print

Swimming Sees 21 Earn MPSF All-Academic Honors

Apr 9, 2013

The Pacific swimming program saw 21 of its student-athletes earn Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic honors following the 2012-13 season, announced by the conference office Monday.

The Tigers saw 12 of their women's swimmers and nine of their men's swimmers receive recognition. The 21 total selections are the most in the program's three-year membership as part of the MPSF.

Seven student-athletes earned recognition for the third time in their respective careers. On the women's side, seniors Jenna Chaplin, Mallory McGowan, Allie Vetterlein and Becca Wyant earned honors for the third consecutive season. Seniors RJ Barton, Sean Dunnigan and Zachary Zlotoff were three-time honorees on the men's side.

Three women and two men earned their second MPSF All-Academic awards this season. Juniors Shelby Bolin and Lydia Schramm and redshirt sophomore Dekel Shahaff were repeat selections on the women's side while juniors Oliver Simkovic and Dai Wilson were two-time honorees for Pacific's men's team.

The Tigers had nine student-athletes making their first appearances on the league's all-academic team. On the women's side, junior Hayley Shillington and sophomores Kelsey Boreyko, Kelsey Crowder, Sydni Johanson and Shannon Mack earned recognition for the first time. Sophomores Cody Burkard, Brandon Chandler, Casey Fleming and Cooper Rogers gave Pacific's men's team four first-time honorees. 

To qualify for MPSF All-Academic honors, student-athletes must have a 3.00 or better cumulative grade point average, must be at least a sophomore academically, must have completed one full year at their institution and must have competed in 50-percent or more of their institution's competitions.

For the complete list of men's honorees, click here. For the complete list of women's honorees, click here.

Tags for this article: