• Print

Congratulations to 2013-2014 Corson and Spanos Teaching Award Winners

Sep 29, 2013

Two College of the Pacific faculty members were honored at this month's Fall Assembly with The College's two prestigious teaching awards.

Jim HetrickJim Hetrick, Professor of Physics, was awarded the Faye and Alex G. Spanos Distinguished Teaching Award. This award recognizes one faculty member each year for an exceptional teaching and academic career. To be eligible, faculty members must have completed at least 10 years of teaching in residence in The College. Winners of the Faye and Alex Spanos Award go beyond teaching in the classroom by advising, directing research, supervising laboratories and mentoring students and new faculty members.



Dr. Jim Hetrick


Greg RohlfGreg Rohlf, Professor of History, was awarded the Stephen E. Corson Award for the Distinguished Teaching of Freshmen. This annual award is given to one faculty member in the College of the Pacific who has distinguished himself or herself in the teaching of freshmen students. The Stephen E. Corson Award was established in 2004 by the Reverend John E. Corson, former Pacific Regent, and Sylvia Bradbury Corson, in memory of their son, Stephen Edmund Corson, who passed away at the age of 38.





Dr. Greg Rohlf