• Print

Pacific Swimming Lands 18 On MPSF All-Academic Team

Apr 5, 2012

Pacific Swimming saw 18 of its student-athletes selected to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic team, announced by the league office Thursday, April 5.

The women's team had 10 honorees while the men's team had eight. The 18 combined selections this season bests last year's total of 13.

Junior Jenna Chaplin, junior Allie Vetterlein, junior Mallory McGowan, senior Ellen Barton and junior Becca Wyant are all making their second consecutive appearances on the team. Joining them are sophomore Lydia Schramm, redshirt freshman Dekel Shahaf, sophomore Shelby Bolin, senior Jayme Swalin, and sophomore MaryElla Randall. The four sophomores were not eligible last season as freshmen.

The men's squad had four repeat selections in senior Zachary Zlotoff, senior Kevin Byers, junior RJ Barton and junior Sean Dunnigan. Making their first appearances on the team are sophomore Oliver Simkovic, redshirt freshman Balazs Erdelyi, senior Roger Ward, and sophomore Dai Wilson.

To qualify for the MPSF All-Academic team, student-athletes must have a 3.00 of better cumulative grade point average and must be at least a sophomore academically. Student-athletes also must have completed one full academic year at their respective institution prior to the 2011-12 season and must have competed in at least fifty percent of their team's meets during the 2011-12 season.

There were a grand total of 173 student-athletes selected to the team with 111 women and 62 men. To view the complete releases, click here for the women and here for the men.

Tags for this article: