• Print

Chemistry Faculty

Dr. Anthony D. DutoiAnthony D. Dutoi, at Pacific since 2012, Assistant Professor; B.S., Saint Louis University, 1999; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2006;
Research focus: Quantum chemistry. Electronic dynamics. Intermolecular interactions. Molecule–Surface interactions. Bond-break reactions in the condensed phase.
Office (209) 946-2590, adutoi@pacific.edu
Dr. Andreas H. FranzAndreas Franz (Co-Chair), at Pacific since 2002, Associate Professor, B.S., Universitaet-Gesamthochschule Siegen, 1994; M.S., University of the Pacific, 1997; Ph.D., University of the Pacific, 2000.
Research focus: Organic Chemistry, Molecular vessels, carbohydrate synthesis, NMR, MS of oligosaccharides.
Office (209) 946-2189, (209)-946-2271, afranz@pacific.edu
Dr. Mike C. McCallumC. Michael McCallum (Co-Chair), at Pacific since 1994, Professor, B.S., Michigan State University, 1988; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1993.
Research focus: Computational Chemistry, Amphiphiles.
Office (209) 946-2636, (209) 946-2271, mmccallum@pacific.edu
Dr. Ryan MoffetRyan Moffet, at Pacific since 2011, Assistant Professor, B.S. San Francisco State University, 2002; Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 2007; Research focus: Analytical, physical, atmospheric, and environmental chemistry. Aerosol and nanoparticle analysis.
Office (209) 946-2006, rmoffet@pacific.edu
Dr. Jianhua RenJianhua Ren, at Pacific since 2002, Associate Professor, B.S., Beijing Normal University, 1986; M.S., Auburn University, 1994; Ph.D., Purdue University, 1999.
Research focus: Physical Chemistry, Gas-Phase Reactions, Peptide Synthesis. Office (209) 946-2393, jren@pacific.edu
Dr. Silvio RodriguezSilvio Rodriguez, at Pacific since 1978, Professor, M.S., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1970; Ph.D., 1978.
Research focus: Physical Chemistry, Fluorescence Spectroscopy.
Office (209) 946-2598, srodriguez@pacific.edu
Dr. Vyacheslav SamoshinVyacheslav V. Samoshin, at Pacific since 1997, Professor; M.S., 1974; Ph.D., 1982; D.Sci., 1991 - all from Moscow State University, USSR.
Research focus: Organic Chemistry, Molecular switches, triggers; Conformational control; Crown ethers; Bioactive carbohydrate mimetics; Asymmetric synthesis.
Office (209) 946-2921, vsamoshin@pacific.edu
Dr. Balint SztarayBalint Sztaray, at Pacific since 2008, Associate Professor, M.S. and Ph.D. Eotvos Lorand University, Hungary 1997 and 2001.
Research focus:
Biophysical Chemistry, Mass spectrometry, Photoionization techniques, Organometallics, Thermochemistry. Office (209) 946-2654, bsztaray@pacific.edu

Dr. Jerry Tsai

Jerry Tsai, at Pacific since 2008, Associate Professor, BS UCLA Microbiology 1991; PhD Stanford Biophysics 1997.
Research focus:
Computational Chemistry, Bioinformatics.
Office (209) 946-2298, jtsai@pacific.edu
Dr. Liang XueLiang Xue, at Pacific since 2007, Assistant Professor, B.S., Fudan University, Shanghai, China, 1996; Ph.D., Clemson University, 2004.
Research focus:
Bioorganic Chemistry, Nucleotide mimetics, DNA repair inhibitors.
Office (209) 946-2360, lxue@pacific.edu
Dr. Qinliang ZhaoQinliang Zhao, at Pacific since 2010, Assistant Professor, B. S., Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China 2003; Ph. D., Texas A&M, USA, 2007. Research focus: Synthetic inorganic chemistry, polydentate ligands, transition metal complexes, small molecule activation, catalysts, electrochemsitry, spectroscopic and computational analyses.
Office (209) 946-2237, qzhao@pacific.edu

 

Directory of research/adjunct faculty

 

O. David SparkmanO. David Sparkman, at Pacific since 1999.

Research focus:
Analytical Chemistry, Mass Spectrometry.
Office (209) 946-2604, osparkman@pacific.edu
Dr. Nataliya SamoshinaNataliya Samoshina, at Pacific since 2002; M.S., 1975; Ph.D., 1985 - all from Lomonsov Moscow State University, USSR.

Research focus:
Biochemistry, Enzymology.
nsamoshina@pacific.edu
Dr. Hyun JooHyun Joo, Visiting Assistant Professor, at Pacific since 2006; M.S., 1999, Hanyang University, South Korea; Ph. D. 2005, Auburn University, AL, USA.

Research focus:
Computational Chemistry, reaction mechanisms and potential energy surfaces.

Rajeev Pandey, Visiting Assistant Professor, at Pacific since 2006
Research focus: Computational Chemistry, carbon nanotubes

Bogdan Bogdanov, Research associate
Research focus:
Analytical Chemistry, Mass Spectrometry

 

Directory of emeriti faculty

 

Dr. Patrick JonesPatrick R. Jones, at Pacific since 1974, Professor, B.A., University of Texas, 1966; B.S., 1966; Ph.D., Stanford University, 1971. Member, Phi Beta Kappa.
Research focus: Physical chemistry, photochemistry, FTMS, MS of biological compounds, accelerator mass spectrometry.
Office (209) 946-2442, pjones@pacific.edu
Dr. Larry SpreerLarry O. Spreer, at Pacific since 1970, Professor, B.S., University of Kansas, 1965; Ph.D., University of Colorado, 1969.
Research focus: Inorganic Chemistry, Cryptands.
Office (209) 946-2268, lspreer@pacific.edu
Dr. Don WedegaertnerDon Wedegaertner
Research focus: Organic chemistry, Radical chemistry.
dwedegaertner@pacific.edu
Dr. Richard DodgeRichard Dodge
Research focus: Physical chemistry.
Dr. Michael J. MinchMichael J. Minch (deceased)
Research focus: Biochemistry, NMR spectroscopy
Dr. Paul H. GrossPaul H. Gross
Research focus: Organic chemistry, Carbohydrates, Peptides.
Dr. Charles MatuszakCharles Matuszak
Research focus: Organic chemistry, Birch Reduction.
Dr. Roy WhitekerRoy Whiteker
Research focus: Inorganic chemistry.
Member, Phi Beta Kappa.
Office (209) 946-2606, rwhiteker@pacific.edu