• Print

Recent Accomplishments

College of the Pacific faculty have been frequent winners of the University's annual Distinguished Faculty Award, the Faculty Mentor Awards given by Pacific's Alumni Association, the Faith Davies Leadership Awards given by student life, and many other awards granted within and outside of Pacific.

We are proud to share a few examples of our award-winning faculty!

Dr. Jianhua Ren presents as Faculty Research Award Lecturer

Jianhua Ren, Chemistry, presented the lecture "The Wonder of the Helical Peptides" as this 2014 faculty research lecturer at the sixth annual Faculty Awards Recognition Dinner. This award was established by the Faculty Research Committee to recognize faculty with a record of meritorious research or artistic contributions during their service at Pacific. Nominated and selected by peers, recipients of this prestigious award also receive a monetary award.

Dr. Ren has been at Pacific since 2002. She has published more than twenty peer reviewed articles,  presented at numerous national and international conferences and has been awarded well in excess of a half million dollars in grant support for her research. 

Meet Dr. Ren and the other award recipients >>

Dr. Alan Ray honored with Faculty Mentor Award from Alumni Association

Alan Ray, assistant professor of Communication, was one of three faculty members honored by the Pacific Alumni Association with a Faculty Mentor Award for 2015. Dr. Ray came to Pacific in 1987, and he says his commitment to his students grew out of the compassion he had for them personally. Each and every student has a different story and he loves to hear them and learn about the challenges each student faces, not only in the classroom but in their lives. 

"During the course of creating opportunities and possibilities in media fields, Dr. Ray has developed deep, lasting relationships with his students," said Qingwen Dong, chair of the Communication Department in the College of the Pacific. "They become more than just alumni; they become lifelong colleagues and friends."

Read the full profile >>

Dr. Diane Borden, Dr. Jon Schamber, receive Order of Pacific

Diane Borden, English, and Dr. Jon Schamber, Communication, were recognized with the Order of Pacific on the occasion of their retirement at the Commencement ceremonies of 2014. The Order of Pacific was established by the Board of Regents in 1952 and is the highest award the University can give.

It is intended to honor members of the University, Regents, faculty, administration and staff who have given distinguished service and made outstanding contributions to the University over a significant number of years. It is awarded to express the University's esteem and appreciation for the recipient's dedication to the University. To be considered for this award nominees normally have a minimum of 15 years of service to the University. 

Both Dr. Borden and Dr. Schamber offered years of service, knowledge, and excellence to the College, and we are grateful for the time we shared with them.

Learn more about their work and their fellow honorees >>

Dr. Carrie Schroeder receives a National Endowment for the Humanities grant

Carrie Schroeder, Religious Studies, is the recipient of a $40,000 Humanities Collections and Reference Resources grant, which will enable scholars not only to digitize core Coptic texts housed at institutions around the world, but to develop standards for future digitization projects. She also received $60,000 Digital Humanities Start-Up Grant; it will allow scholars to develop the tools and technologies necessary for computer-aided study and interaction with the materials.

Working in collaboration with her project co-director, Amir Zeldes of Humboldt University in Berlin, Schroeder's goal is to make ancient Coptic texts as easy to access online as the morning's latest news.

Read more about this exciting grant and Dr. Schroeder's work >>

Psychology Professor Matthew Normand Receives B.F. Skinner New Researcher Award

Dr. Matt Normand was awarded the B. F. Skinner New Researcher Award for innovative and important research in behavior analysis conducted within the first seven years of receiving a doctorate. The award was presented at the American Psychological Association's Annual Convention in Washington D.C. in August 2011, where Dr. Normand gave an invited address. Dr. Normand frequently involves undergraduate and graduate students in his research and has co-authored journal articles with them.