Skip to content
  • Print

University Policy Advisory Committee (UPAC)

The University Policy Advisory Committee (UPAC) serves as an advisory committee to the President’s Cabinet. The committee:

  • Reviews proposed policies and substantive policy modifications
  • Provides analysis and resolutions regarding policy conflicts and interpretations
  • Recommends for approval policies and policy changes to President’s Cabinet

The UPAC consists of four voting members and two ex-officio members. The voting members are selected by the Vice President of Finance, the Provost, the Vice President for Student Life, and the Academic Council Chair.  

University Policy Advisory Committee Members

  Member Title Email
BiographyJared Gaynor serves as the Chief of Staff to the Provost. In this role, Jared is the senior professional deputy to the Provost, handling a wide range of matters for the Provost, including as a senior advisor to the Provost, as the lead for administrative research administrative projects and policy issues for the Academic Division and other senior university leadership, and as the Compliance Lead for the Academic Operations Compliance Functional Unit. Jared also currently serves as the Chair of the University Policy Advisory Committee, and previously served Pacific as Interim Assistant Provost for the Center for Professional and Continuing Education. In addition to a JD earned from the McGeorge School of Law at Pacific, Jared has an MS in Microbiology from Colorado State University, a BS in Microbiology (Concentration in Clinical Lab Sciences) from the California State University at Chico, and a Certificate in International and Comparative Law from a joint program of the McGeorge School of Law and Universität Salzburg.

Jared Gaynor, Chair

Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost Email

Rhonda Bryant 

Associate Vice President/Dean of Students  Email

Margaret Denton 

Chief Compliance Officer, ex officio  Email

Linda Jeffers 

Assistant Vice President for Human Resources  Email

John Livesey 

Associate Professor  Email

Kevin Mills 

General Counsel, ex officio  Email