Skip to content

  • Print

NACUSA Young Composers competition Honorable Mention

Mar 20, 2009

The National Association of Composers, USA is pleased to announce the results of the 2008 (thirtieth annual) Young Composers Competition:

First Prize ($400 and a performance on a NACUSA National Concert):
Andrew Seager Cole (a freelance composer living in Appleton Wisconsin), for his Sound, Timbre, and Density III for flute and pre-recorded sound.

Second Prize ($100 and the likelihood of a performance on a NACUSA concert):

  • Martin Blessinger (Assistant Professor of Music at Texas Christian University), for his Duo for Saxophone and Piano.


Honorable Mention:

  • Kevin Baldwin (Undergraduate student in Composition at the University of the Pacific) for his Meditation for bassoon solo,
  • David van Gilluwe (a Bachelors student at California State University, Fresno), for his Centrifuge for timpani and piano, and
  • Ryan Jesperson (a Doctoral student at the University of Missouri-Kansas City), for his Farbenmusik for piano.


The judges were Daniel Kessner (President, NACUSA), Deon Neilsen Price (Past President, NACUSA), and David S. Lefkowitz (Vice-President, NACUSA).