Skip to content
  • Print


Program Curriculum

The MPAS degree program is a full-time graduate level program with an integrated curriculum that contains both didactic and clinical educational experiences. The program is 27 months (7 academic semesters), starting with a year of didactic instruction followed by clinical application educational experiences and summative evaluation. During the first year, students build a strong academic foundation of medical knowledge in preparation for clinical training. The clinical education portion of the curriculum consists of 12 – four-week clinical rotations (nine core rotations and three elective rotations) which occur in various healthcare settings. Students have the option to choose a specialty pathway for electives. This specialty pathway allows students to spend up to three additional rotations in a specialty. Currently developed specialty pathways include:

  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • General Surgery and Surgical specialties (orthopedics, cardiothoracic surgery)
  • Medicine Subspecialties — hospitalist, cardiology, oncology

An interprofessional team approach to patient care is vital in today’s health care environment. The curriculum provides numerous opportunities for interprofessional education with other Pacific health related programs (Dentistry, Pharmacy and Physical Therapy) and through clinical training experiences in community hospitals and clinics.

More Information