Skip to content
  • Print

Ethnic Studies Faculty Directory`

The interdisciplinary Ethnic Studies Program draws from the expertise of faculty across the University of the Pacific. These faculty members are listed below by school/department.

Xiaojing Zhou2002, Professor of English and Program Director
xzhou@pacific.edu - Phone: 209-946-2611- Office: WPC, Rm. 127


Anthropology / School of International Studies

Sara M. Mathis, 2008, Associate Professor of Anthropology
Phone: 209.946.7713 - Office: George Wilson Hall, Room 201

Laura A. Bathurst, 2005, Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Phone: 209.946.3181 - Office: George Wilson Hall, Room 102 

Communication

Teresa Bergman, 2006, Associate Professor
tbergman@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.7602 - Office: Psy/Comm Building, Room 7

Ken Day, 1987, Professor
kdday@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.3047 - Office: Psy/Comm Building, Room 6

Qingwen Dong, 1996, Professor and Chair
qdong@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2505 - Office: Psy/Comm Building, Room 3

Economics

Peter Meyer, 1985, Associate Professor
pjmeyer@sbcglobal.net - Phone: 209.946.2906 - Office: WPC 217

School of Education

Harriet Arnold; BA, Social Welfare, San Francisco State College, 1986; MA, Elementary Education, San Jose State University, 1974; EdD, University of San Francisco, 1984
Phone: 209.946.2807

Ann Go
Phone: 209.946.2306
Professor Go teaches Introduction to Bilingual Education (CURR 129/229) and Teaching English Learners (CURR 137).

Ronn Hallet; 2014, Associate Professor
rhallett@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2265 

Fred Muskal
Phone: 209.946.3254
Professor Muskal teaches Cultural Basis of Conflict in Education (EADM 130/230).

Robert Oprandy, Professor
roprandy@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2671

Heidi Stevenson; Associate Professor
hstevenson@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2681

English

Cynthia Dobbs, 1998, Professor
cdobbs@pacific.edu - Phone 209-946-2229

Courtney Lehmann, 1998, Professor
clehmann@pacific.edu - Phone: 209-946-2609 

John Lessard, 2006, Associate Professor and Film Studies Program Director
jlessard@pacific.edu - Phone: 209-946-4067

Camille Norton, 1994, Professor
cnorton@pacific.edu - Phone: 209-946-2122

Xiaojing Zhou, 2002, Professor and Chair
xzhou@pacific.edu - Phone: 209-946-2611

History

Jennifer Helgren, 2006, Associate Professor and Co-Chair
jhelgren@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2270 - Office: Wendell Phillips Center, Rm. 230

William Swagerty, 2001, Professor and Co-Chair
wswagerty@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2527 - Office: Wendell Phillips Center, Rm. 222

Modern Literature & Languages

Martin Camps, 2005, Professor
mcamps@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.7403 - Office: WPC Annex 246

Susan Giraldez, 1994, Associate Professor and MLL Department Chair
sgiralde@pacific.edu
-  Phone: 209.946.2291 - Office: WPC Annex 253

Conservatory of Music

Patrick Langham, 2003, Associate Professor and Director of Jazz Studies.
plangham@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.3222

Political Science

Jeff Becker, 2006, Associate Professor
Phone: 209.946.3986 - Office: WPC 124

Dari E. Sylvester Tran, 2005, Associate Professor
dsylvester@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2007 - Office: WPC 126

Sociology

Alison Alkon, 2008, Assistant Professor
aalkon@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2930 - Office: WPC 206

Marcia Hernandez, 2005, Associate Dean
mhernandez@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2100 - Office: WPC 117

Ethel Nicdao, 2007, Associate Professor and Department Chair
enicdao@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2103 - Office: WPC 208

Speech/Language/Pathology

Jeannene Ward-Lonergan, 1999, Professor.
jwardlon@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.3227 

Sport Sciences

Peter J. Schroeder, 2007, Associate Professor and Chair
pschroeder@pacific.edu - Phone: 209.946.2704 - Office: Main Gym, Room 201