Work and programs

Pacific Champions of DEI Awards

The awards are presented annually to staff members who exemplify the university’s values of DEI in an exceptional manner. The 2020 award recipients are Allison Dumas, associate vice president for student involvement and equity in the Division of Student Life, and Lott Hill, director of the Center for Teaching and Learning. 

Facilitating campus dialogue

We focus on increasing and amplifying student voices on DEI matters and opportunities for Pacificans to build meaningful relationships across differences through discussion, and connecting on shared interest(s) and/or identities.

DEI Dialogues

The University Committee for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, in partnership with President Christopher Callahan, presents this series of dialogues designed to offer students an enriched co-curricular experience via participating in dialogues with influential citizen leaders from across the country. The dialogues address the social, cultural and structural inequities in our society and help educate, engage and empower individuals to become transformative leaders in the fight for social justice. 
The next dialogue will be on July 22 (topic to be announced).


Inaugural Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer Mary Wardell-Ghirarduzzi spoke at during the April 2021 DEI Dialogue: “One Pacific: Tigers United Together Against Hate”


UCDEI provides financial support for university-focused programming or projects that align with the university president’s initiatives. Contact co-chair Marshea Pratt at for more information.


UCDEI supports cultural and identity-based celebrations and similar activities throughout the academic year.

Social Media

UCDEI maintains an ongoing and active presence on Instagram and Facebook. Follow us and participate in the dialogue.

President Christopher Callahan’s call to action

“I believe having a cabinet-level executive focused exclusively on these issues is a first step. Pacific will be one of only two West Coast Conference universities to have a vice president for DEI."

President Christopher Callahan
Marshea Pratt
Co-chair, staff
Marshea Pratt

Marshea Pratt is the Assistant Director of Clubs and Regional Programs for the Pacific Alumni Association based on University of the Pacific’s Stockton campus.  

In addition to serving as Co-Chair of the UCDEI, she also serves as an advisor for Kilusan Pilipino Student Club and the Alpha Alpha Xi Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega Fraternity.  She is a 2014 recipient of Pacific’s Women of Distinction Award and a 2016 recipient of the Podesto Award for Excellence in Student Life, Mentoring and Counseling.

She earned a Bachelor’s degree in English from University of the Pacific in 1993 and a Master’s in Public Administration from Stanislaus State in 2003.

Co-chair, faculty
Qingwen Dong

Qingwen Dong is a professor and the director of the graduate program in Department of Communication at University of the Pacific. He received the minority scholarship from the Association in Education for Journalism and Mass Communication while working on his doctorate at Washington State University.

After joining Pacific in 1995, he became the first Chinese American to chair a Department of Communication in the nation. He is a recipient of the university’s highest teaching and research honor, the Award for Eberhardt Teacher/Scholar; its highest honor for scholarship, the Award for Faculty Research Lecturer; and its highest honor for service, the Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring.

He served as Provost Faculty Fellow in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. His teaching and research focus on intercultural communication, socialization and media effects. 

Qingwen Dong

Voting members

Rupa Balachandran, Associate Professor of Audiology

Stan Constantino, assistant Dean of Admissions, School of Dentistry

Scout Cooper-Wilson, ASuop President, student

Qingwen Dong, Professor of Communication

Melanie Felmlee, Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry/Pharmacy

Susan Giraldez, Associate Professor of Modern Language & Literature

Joshua Harzman, Assistant Director of Housing

Ahmed Kanna, Associate Professor of International Studies

Larry Levine, Professor of Law

Randall Ogans, Enterprise Applications Developer

Leonard Perry, Assistant Head Coach for Men’s Basketball

Marshea Pratt, Assistant Director of Alumni Clubs and Regional Programs

Cecilia Ruvalcaba, Assistant Professor of Marketing

Ta’Niyia Smith, Student

Jeff Shafer, Academic Council Chair

Ex-officio non-voting members

Allison Dumas, Associate Vice President of Student Involvement & Equity

Hector Escalante, University Ombuds

Deborah Freeman, Director of AA/EEO

Marge Grey, Associate Vice President of Marketing and Communications

Lott Hill, Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning

Mike Klocke, Community Relations Director

Joan Lin-Cereghino, Vice Provost of Faculty Affairs

Danny Nuss, Services for Students with Disabilities Director

Tracy Patton, Community Involvement Program Exec. Director 

Jasmin Quinones, Intercultural Student Success Coordinator

Rachael Salcido, Professor of Law

Colleen Smith, Associate Director of Gender Equity and Pride

Edie Sparks, Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education

Elizabeth Trayner, Title IX Coordinator

Susan Vang, Intercultural Student Success Coordinator

Melissa Yamanaka, Diversity and Outreach Manager for Dental Admissions