Students honored for service in Faith Davies Awards

three people stand together holding their award plaques

(L-R) Umm-E-Salma Zaman, Sahila Shah and Elisa Chavez

Sahila Shah ’23, a business student who has worked tirelessly on matters of diversity, received the Elizabeth Griego Outstanding Leader Award at the Faith Davies All-University Leadership Awards on May 12.

The awards aim to recognize the success of Pacific students, student organizations and student organization advisors.

Shah helped establish a council on diversity, equity and inclusion and organized dinners for students during Ramadan.

“I am grateful for the Community Involvement Program for helping make me the person I am today,” said Shah, praising the scholarship and community service program for students from the Stockton community.

Sikh Student Association

Sikh Student Association

The Sikh Student Association was named Student Organization of the Year.

The association collaborated with the Stockton Police Department on community safety and worked diligently to educate others about the Sikh faith.

Asher Bloom ’24 and Cynia Manning ’24, both College of the Pacific students, were co-recipients of the Clifford Dochterman Outstanding Junior award. Bloom helped organize 31 ASuop events and Manning demonstrated leadership on campus and in the community. She is incoming ASuop vice president.

Umm-E-Salma Zaman ’23 (College of the Pacific) received the Jesse Marks Co-Curricular Award for efforts in organizations outside the classroom. “I am very appreciative of the faculty and staff who helped me serve others,” she said.

Three students received the Champions of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Awards:

  • Pedro Madera ’23, an engineering student who helped strengthen diversity efforts in the school and identified ways to decrease food waste as part of his senior project.
  • Lovia Ofori-Ampofo ’23, a DEI fellow and leader in the Pacific McGeorge School of Law. “I am a product of what happens when universities invest in their under-represented students,” she said.
  • Gabriel E. Soto ’24, who helped create and strengthen DEI efforts as the School of Health Sciences was forming.

Grishma Pattni ’23 was named Outstanding Graduate Student. The Eberhardt School of Business student was instrumental in the work of a panel that helped international students transition to campus life.

Dr. Elisa Chavez, a Professor of Diagnostic Sciences in the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, was honored as Outstanding Student Organization Advisor for her overall leadership of dental students of color.

For the third consecutive year the Anderson Y Community Service Award was presented to the Community Involvement Program Student Association. Among its community outreach is ongoing support of youth literacy initiatives.

award recipients pose for a photo

2023 Faith Davies Award recipients